© 2019 New Orleans Rowing Club

High School Team - Competitive Team

Join the NORC Competitive Team!

  • VARSITY – Rowers selected by the coach, due to performance or other factors, for our most competitive boats and races against other clubs’ varsity teams. Additionally, the varsity squad enters both varsity and junior varsity events. Varsity events are first boat races and the junior varsity boats can race in second, third and fourth boat events.

  • NOVICE – Rowers who demonstrate the potential and aptitude for competition and who seek to develop their competitive racing experience. Novice is an ideal place for those who wish to build strength and conditioning in order to eventually earn a spot on the varsity team. Additionally, USRowing defines Novice rowers as anyone who has started the sport within the previous 12 months. This means there are often a separate “novice” category at regattas, regardless of age. 

Interested in Summer Rowing?

Want to learn how to row this summer? Contact a Coach to sign up for our Summer Camp!

Spring 2020 Information

Practice Times: Tues/Thurs 5pm-7pm, Sat 8:30am-10:30am (all water practices at NORC boathouse)

Dues: $365 (payable via check or NORC Paypal). Please submit payment by the first day of practice.

New Rowers: Please order the required uniform (unisuit) here if you joined over the winter or are joining this season.

 

SPRING 2020

Sat, Feb 8 - First day of practice (All Returning Rowers)

Sat, Feb 15 - NORC Open House & Team Meeting (Mandatory, 10:00am) @ NORC Boathouse 5958 St. Bernard Ave. (All Rowers & Parents)

Tue, Feb 18 - Swim Test (Mandatory for All New Rowers, 8pm) @ UNO Aquatic Center 6801 Franklin Ave. Last day of registration (All Fees Due)

Sat-Tue, Feb 22-25 - Mardi Gras Break (No Practice)

Sun, Mar 8 - Daylight Savings (7:05pm Sunset)

TBD (Sun, Mar 29 or Sun, Apr 5) - Rowing Club of the Woodlands Dual Race @ The Woodlands, TX (All Rowers)

Fri, Apr 17 - Video Review & Team Dinner @ 1535 Riviera Avenue (All Rowers)

Sat, Apr 18 - NORC Spring Time Trials @ Bayou St. John (All Rowers)

Sat-Sun, Apr 25-26 - Dogwood Junior Championships @ Oakridge, TN (All Rowers)

Sat, May 2 - Last day of practice (For Rowers Not Selected for SE Champs)

Sat-Sun, May 9-10 - USRowing SE Youth Championships @ Sarasota, FL (Select Rowers)

Fri-Sun, May 15-17 - Bayou Boogaloo Volunteering & Fundraising @ New Orleans, LA (All Rowers)

Tue, May 26 - End-of-Season Banquet @ TBD

Thu-Sun, June 11-14 - USRowing Youth National Championships @ Sarasota, FL (Qualified Rowers)

 
Contact a Coach

Interested in Joining the Competitive Team? Fill out the form below and a coach will contact you to answer your questions!