© 2019 New Orleans Rowing Club

Middle School Team - Development Team

Join the NORC Development Team!

The NORC Development Team is suitable for new rowers to develop skills without the added
pressure of competition and for experienced rowers who, as deemed by coaches
of the rower, would benefit from a less race-centric atmosphere in which to build
rowing-specific strength, proficiency and skill. Additionally, all rowers aged 12-14
will automatically be considered development unless otherwise determined by
the coach.

Interested in Summer Rowing?

Want to learn how to row this summer? Contact a Coach to  sign up for the summer Learn to Row camp!

2019 Rowing Schedule:
SPRING 2019

Spring water practices are held every Monday from 5-7pm and Saturday 10:00-12pm.

Sat, Feb 16 - NORC Open House & Team Meeting (Mandatory, 10:00am) @ NORC Boathouse 5958 St. Bernard Ave. (All Rowers & Parents). Followed by Intro to Rowing for all middle schoolers.

Mon, Feb 18 - First day of practice (All Rowers)

Sat, Feb 23 - Swim Test (Mandatory for All New Rowers, 4pm) @ UNO Aquatic Center 6801 Franklin Ave. No Practice in AM. Last day of registration (All Fees Due)

Sat-Tue, Mar 2-5 - Mardi Gras Break (No Practice)

Sun, Mar 10 - Daylight Savings (7:06pm Sunset)

Sun, Mar 17 - Rowing Club of the Woodlands Dual Race @ Woodlands, TX (Select Rowers)

Fri, Apr 12 - Spaghetti Team Dinner @ TBD

Sat, Apr 13 - NORC Spring Time Trials @ New Orleans, LA (All Rowers)

Mon, May 13 - Last day of practice

Fri-Sun, May 17-19 - Bayou Boogaloo Volunteering & Fundraising @ New Orleans, LA (Rowers & Parents)

Tue, May 28 - End-of-Season Banquet @ TBD

 

SUMMER 2019

Tues/Thursday, August 13-22 - Learn-To-Row Camp - Learn the basics of rowing before the Fall season begins! This 4-session series takes place at the NORC Boathouse on Bayou St. John on Tuesday/Thursday from 5pm - 6pm. $100 per athlete. No prior experience required! 

 

FALL 2019

Fall water practices are held every Monday from 5-7pm and Saturday 10:00-12pm.

 

Mon, August 31 - NORC Open House & Team Meeting (Mandatory, 10:00am) @ NORC Boathouse 5958 St. Bernard Ave. (All Rowers & Parents). Followed by Intro to Rowing for all middle schoolers.

Mon, Sep 2 - First day of practice (All Rowers)

Sat, Sep 7 - Swim Test (Mandatory for All New Rowers, 4pm) @ UNO Aquatic Center 6801 Franklin Ave. Last day of registration (All Fees Due)

Sat, Sep 21 - Boathouse Cleanup Day (All Rowers)

Sat, Oct 5 - NORC Fall Time Trials @ New Orleans, LA (All Rowers)

Sun, Nov 3 - Daylight Savings (5:12pm Sunset)

Sat, Nov 9 - Head of the South @ Augusta, GA (Select Rowers)

Tue, Nov 12 - Last Day of Practice (Re-rig Boats)

Fri, Nov 15 - End-of-Year Banquet @ TBD (All Rowers)

WINTER 2019-20

Winter water practices are held every Saturday 10:00-12:00am.

 

Mon, Nov 18 - First day of practice (All New & Returning Rowers)

Mon-Sat, Nov 26-Dec 1 - Thanksgiving Break (No Practice)

Tue, Dec 3 - Last day of registration (All Fees Due)

Sat-Tue, Dec 22-Jan 1 - Winter Break (No Practice)

Thu, Jan 30 - Last day of practice

Sat, Feb 1 - New Orleans Indoor Rowing Sprints (All Rowers)

 
Contact a Coach

Interested in Joining the Development Team? Fill out the form below and a coach will contact you to answer your questions!